On Catcalls

Define: Catcall

Catcall (n): a loud or raucous cry made especially to express disapproval (as at a sports event)

Before I begin discussing past events, may I ask, when was the last time you heard this word used in the context of the dictionary definition? It most likely would’ve been a while ago, because today the word tends to imply sexual harassment. As defined, modern catcalls tend to be “a loud… cry…”, but express the catcaller’s view on what an easy target and how “alluring” they seem to be. Thousands of women deal with this at least once in their lives, but why should we? Even though it’s been “normalised”, it still counts as sexual harassment, i.e., very bad thing.

I go out for walks or runs fairly regularly in my area; it’s fun, keeps my fitness up, and all that other lovely stuff. As with any physical activity, I sweat a bit, so I usually wear shorts and a t-shirt. You can probably guess where I’m going with this. Especially during the holidays, when there are lots of tourists, I get called so many things, that it’s almost become expected. I get wolf-whistled, beeped at, told to take my shirt off, etc. Some people may like that, not judging them, but I certainly do not. I’m not overly confident with my body, so going out is hard enough as it is, but when attention is drawn to it me, and I’m treated like an object to be stared at, I feel pretty terrible. I just want to go out and exercise while enjoying the nice weather. Why is it so difficult for boys/men to understand that???

There is a reason I chose now to rant about this, because I’ve seriously had enough. On Tuesday, the weather was slightly cooler. I wasn’t feeling too well, but went out for a walk because I knew the fresh air would do me good. I wore a t-shirt with long, rather daggy, track pants. Do you want to know how many times I was harassed? In the space of an hour, SIX FREAKING TIMES. When there are rape cases involving women, one of the questions asked is “what were you wearing”, thinking that it could put them in the wrong, for making themselves targets. People don’t care how you look; if, in any way you give the impression of being vulnerable, it could be your height, race, gender, whether or not you’re alone… it doesn’t matter, people will still find some reason to harass you and make you feel uncomfortable.

What bothers me most, is that people think that catcallers are trying to give a compliment. That time I went out earlier this week, I was well aware that I looked terrible, but 6 individual guys felt like pointing out the opposite. I have gone out for a walk on other days looking much nicer (and not looking ill), and I’d get bothered, at most, maybe twice. When I get dressed up to go out with friends and feel confident and happy, do I get harassed at all? Except for very rare occasions, no. No one even considers it. It’s why this upsets me so much, because it’s become a trend of going out and telling people they’re worthless, but with the way they say it, society views it as a “compliment gone wrong”.

Please, unless you’re going to be legitimately nice about it, don’t say anything about how someone presents themselves, as it just messes with them and is really hurtful.

Leave a comment